Pawan natekar
4 min readMay 23, 2024

--

I finally took the decision to stop smoking last week, something I had been thinking about for a while.

No smoking

The trip was brief yet significant, full with many insights and experiences. Here are the events of my first week off cigarettes. Day 1: The Task Is Started Naturally, the first day was the hardest. My typical morning craving for a cigarette was there when I woke up. I decided to go for a quick stroll instead of caving in. I had strong desires that came on waves all throughout the day. I noticed that I was thinking about smoking all the time, but I was also determined.
Many of us have thought about the difficult process of quitting smoking at some point in our daily lives. I had known for decades that smoking has health hazards, yet I couldn't break the habit. At last, I made the decision to give up smoking for a week. This is what I personally experienced during those seven days.

Day 1: The Choice and the First Battle Anxiety mixed with determination marked the first day. It was both liberating and intimidating to wake up the next morning knowing that I had made up my decision the previous evening. The hardest part was the morning, when I felt incomplete without lighting up with my usual cup of coffee. But I attempted to occupy myself and substituted a piece of gum for my smoke. I was relieved when the day was over, but I was also nervous and agitated.

Day 2: Mental and Physical Difficulties Day two really got to me. I had migraines and a near-constant need for nicotine. My attention was scattered, making it hard for me to concentrate on my work. I started drinking more water and eating fruits and nuts as healthy snacks to help me cope. I also went for quick walks whenever the cravings got too strong. It was difficult, but I had to keep telling myself that these were only transitory symptoms, an indication that my body was beginning to mend.

Day 3: Looking for Assistance The physical symptoms started to lessen by the third day, but the mental struggle persisted. I reached out to relatives and close friends when I recognized I needed additional support, and they gave me encouragement and shared their personal experiences. Signing up for a support network on the internet was also beneficial; reading about other people's successful quitting experiences was quite inspiring. Realizing I wasn't the only one going through this was really helpful.

Day 4: Minor Triumphs The fourth day marked a sea change. Though they were still there, the urges were happening less frequently. My taste and smell senses seemed to be becoming better. Food taste better, and my sense of smell was sharper. These minor adjustments made me feel better. I congratulated myself on these successes and reminded myself of the advantages of giving up smoking.

Day 5: Sensing the Advantages I started to see more noticeable advantages by the fifth day. I felt like I was breathing more clearly and had more energy all day. I began adding some mild exercise to my regimen, which lifted my spirits even higher and served as a distraction from my desires. I hadn't felt physically energized like this in a long time.

Day 6: Creating New Routines The sixth day's focus was on creating new routines to replace the outdated ones. I discovered new methods to unwind, like reading, practicing meditation, and hanging out with pals who didn't smoke. I was able to maintain my objective concentration because to these exercises. I also continuously reminded myself of the three main reasons I gave up: my desire for a higher quality of life, my finances, and my health.

Day 7: A Progress-Picking Week Getting to the seventh day seemed like a big accomplishment. Despite the ups and downs of the week, I was proud of myself for getting this far. Although the urges persisted, they were no longer overwhelming. I'd shown myself that I could go without cigarettes and that giving them up already had its advantages.

I appreciate you taking the time to read about my week-long smoking cessation experience. Although difficult, it was one of the most fulfilling experiences I've had in a while. If you're thinking about giving up smoking, remember that it is doable and that the advantages outweigh the difficulties. Remain resilient, look for help, and never forget that every little accomplishment is a step closer to living a healthier life.

--

--